Eat Well Guide

The Eat Well Guide, formally known as the Eat Well Plate and changed in 2016, is to be used to help most people to get a balance of healthier and more sustainable food.  It shows how much of what you eat overall should come from each food group.  There are 5 food groups on the Eat Well Guide:

  1. Fruit and vegetables
  2. Potatoes, bread, rice, pasta and other starchy carbohydrates
  3. Beans, pulses, fish, eggs, meat and other proteins
  4. Dairy and alternatives
  5. Oils and spreads

Each of these sections is required in the diet in specific portions in order to maintain a balanced diet.  The fruit and vegetables make up 40%, starchy carbohydrates section takes up 38% each on the Eat Well Guide.  Proteins consist of 12%, dairy and alternatives 8% and oils and spread 1%.

Each of these proportions of the guide does not represent how much is to be eaten each meal, yet across a whole day or even a week.

Although the Eat Well Guide is there to provide an idea of how to maintain a balanced diet and healthier lifestyle, it is not suitable for everyone.  Those aged between 2-5 years old have different nutritional needs as they are gradually moving towards eating the same foods as their family.  To add to that, pregnant women require alternative foods and in different proportions as they are growing another human and will require higher levels of protein and are unable to eat certain foods.

If you would like to learn more about each section on the Eat Well Guide, click the links in each section.

Have a good day!

Miss Luke

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s